

NEWS RELEASE

Communications and Public Affairs 1 Fire Authority Road Irvine, CA 92602

For Immediate Release:

February 6, 2017

Contact: Fire Captain Larry Kurtz Fire Captain/PIO

714-357-7782 larrykurtz@ocfa.org

Elizabeth Swift and Ed Sachs Elected as Chair and Vice-Chair of Orange County Fire Authority

Irvine, CA – At the January 26, 2017 OCFA Board meeting, Buena Park Councilmember Elizabeth Swift was elected as Chair, with Mission Viejo Councilmember Ed Sachs as Vice Chair for 2017. These positions are elected by the OCFA Joint Powers Authority Board members, and serve a one-year term. The 2016 board Chair, Gene Hernandez (Yorba Linda), will become Immediate Past Chair, and will continue serving with the 25-member governing body of the OCFA.

The OCFA's Board of Directors is made up of representatives from each of the cities and unincorporated areas that the Fire Authority serves. Below is a list of the current board for 2017.

2017 OCFA Board of Directors

Aliso Viejo	Dave Harrington*	Rancho Santa Margarita	Carol Gamble
Buena Park	Elizabeth Swift	San Clemente	Tim Brown*
Cypress	Rob Johnson	San Juan Capistrano	Sergio Farias*
Dana Point	Joe Muller	Santa Ana	Vincente Sarmiento
Irvine	Melissa Fox*	Seal Beach	Ellery Deaton*
La Palma	Michele Steggell	Stanton	Dave Shawver
Laguna Hills	Don Sedgwick	Tustin	Al Murray
Laguna Niguel	Laurie Davies	Villa Park	Bill Nelson*
Laguna Woods	Noel Hatch	Westminster	Tri Ta
Lake Forest	Leah Basile*	Yorba Linda	Gene Hernandez
Los Alamitos	Shelley Hasselbrink	County of Orange	Lisa Bartlett
Mission Viejo	Ed Sachs	County of Orange	Todd Spitzer
Placentia	Craig Green		

^{* 2017} Newly Appointed Director